States with Sanctuary-Cities Might Not Receive Aid

“If it’s COVID related,” the president will talk about it.

President Trump said he might withhold federal coronavirus aid from any states that refuse to comply with federal immigration policies.

At a White House event that promoted measures to help businesses during the pandemic, he told reporters, “If it’s COVID related, I guess we can talk about it, but we’d want certain things also, including sanctuary-city adjustments.”

He added, “That’s one of the things I think about. If we are going to do something for the states, I think they’d probably want something having to do with sanctuary cities and other different points that we can discuss a little later on.”

There are eleven states with sanctuary city policies: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Vermont and Washington.

In March, as the virus began to worsen, President Trump said he would withhold some federal money from states that defied federal immigration law, after a federal court ruled that such a move would be lawful.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For President Trump and those advising him to have wisdom about whether federal funds should be tied to sanctuary city policies.
  • For Congress when they consider additional relief funding for states and local governments once they return to Washington.

Sources: Business Insider, The Hill


Back to top