Administration Working to Revise Racial Classifications

Chief statistician initiating a formal review.

The chief statistician of the federal government, Karin Orvis, published information on Wednesday regarding the formal review her office is initiating of the race and ethnic categorizations used in government documents.

There are five current racial classifications typically used; White, Black or African American, American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, and Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander. These categorizations have not been updated since 1997, and people of Middle Eastern, African, and Hispanic descent have often felt confused when trying to choose one for documentation.

The office of the chief statistician hopes to finalize the formal review by 2024. “I understand the importance of moving quickly and with purpose,” said Ms. Orvis. “It is also important that we get this right.”

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For wisdom for the chief statistician and her office as they work to accurately offer racial classification options for Americans. 
  • For discernment U.S. governing officials as they gather data regarding race and ethnicity categorization. 

Sources: AP, Reuters


Back to top