Speaker Names Virus Stimulus Oversight Panel

Seven House members are all partisans.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi named seven lawmakers to a committee tasked with overseeing coronavirus stimulus money. The move comes after reports surfaced of publicly-traded companies receiving loans meant for small businesses.

The panel, all partisans, will be led by House Majority Whip Jim Clyburn of South Carolina, and includes the chairs of three congressional committees: Maxine Waters of California of the Financial Services Committee, Carolyn Maloney of New York of the House Oversight Committee,  and Nydia Velazquez of New York, chair of the House Small Business Committee. Rounding out the committee are Bill Foster of Illinois, Jamie Raskin of Maryland and Andy Kim of New Jersey.

Four bills to aid Americans during the pandemic have been passed by Congress, including a $484 billion coronavirus relief bill signed by President Trump last week.

“We must make sure that the historic investment of taxpayer dollars made in the CARES Act is being used wisely and efficiently to help those in need, not be exploited by profiteers and price-gougers,” the speaker said in a “Dear Colleague” letter.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the members of the oversight committee to act in the widest interest of all American citizens.
  • For all recipients of the federal funds to be wise in using them to help stimulate the economy.

Sources: Politico, Newsmax


Back to top