Current and Former Presidents Win Respective New Hampshire Primaries

President Biden won as a write-in candidate.

President Joe Biden received over 51 percent of his party’s votes as a write-in candidate in New Hampshire’s Democratic Primary on Tuesday. Congressman Dean Phillips came in second with a little over 19 percent. The president was not on the ballot because his party’s leaders chose South Carolina as the first official primary, being held February 3rd. However, New Hampshire law requires it to hold the first primary and proceeded with its earlier primary without the president’s registration or formal involvement.

When the results were in, President Biden thanked “all those who wrote my name in this evening in New Hampshire. It was a historic demonstration of commitment to our democratic process.“

Former President Donald Trump won the New Hampshire Republican Primary that was held on Tuesday, besting Nikki Haley by more than 35,000 votes. After placing a distant second in the Iowa Caucus, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis halted his campaign and endorsed President Trump the weekend before New Hampshire’s primary.

“New Hampshire is first in the nation; it is not last in the nation,” said Nikki Haley, the former governor of South Carolina, after her loss. “This race is far from over. There are dozens of states left to go. And the next one is my sweet state of South Carolina.”

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the presidential candidates as they campaign and cast their visions for the United States.
  • For the American people to be led by the Lord as they cast their primary votes.
  • For God’s purposes to be accomplished in this presidential election cycle and outcome.

Sources: NPR, CNN, Townhall


Back to top