Interior Department Establishes 18 New Landmarks

The national sites span thirteen states.

Interior Secretary Deb Haaland designated 16 new historic landmarks and two national landmarks this month, adding historic locations to the over 3,200 landmarks recognized for their national importance. The 18 new locations span 13 states and include courthouses, residences, science facilities, and parklands that are important to the country’s history. 

“The new National Historic and Natural Landmarks designated today further the Interior Department’s vision for inclusive and collaborative conservation,” stated Secretary Deb Haaland. “Supporting voluntary and locally led stewardship is key to nationwide efforts to conserve and connect the lands upon which we all depend.”  

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For discernment for Secretary Haaland as she and Interior Department officials designate historic national sites.
  • For Director Chuck Sams as he oversees the National Park Service.
  • For wisdom for Director Tracy Stone-Manning as she heads the Bureau of Land Management.

Sources: Department of the Interior


Back to top