McConnell and Schumer Re-Elected as Senate Party Leaders

The political parties offered no challenges to either senator.

Senators voted Tuesday to maintain the status quo in their respective party leadership teams. There were no leadership challenges to any senator in either party, but both parties’ campaign operations will have new leaders for the 2022 midterm elections.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky will continue to lead the Republicans, and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer of New York will be the leader for the Democrats. Senator John Thune of South Dakota remains majority whip, and Senator Dick Durbin of Illinois will remain minority whip.

For the midterms in two years, Senator Rick Scott of Florida will take over the National Republican Senatorial Committee. Democrats say they will determine their chair at a later date. Their current chairman, Nevada Senator Catherine Cortez Masto, will take on a new role as the party’s vice chair of outreach.

Others in leadership for the Republicans include John Barrasso of Wyoming as conference chair, Iowa Senator Joni Ernst as vice conference chair, and Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri is chair of the Policy Committee.  Democrat leaders include Senator Patty Murray of Washington as assistant Democrat leader, and Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan will lead the Policy and Communications Committee.

Which party will have control of the Senate waits on the outcome of special elections taking place in Georgia on January 5.

The House will hold its leadership elections next week.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the senators who will have leadership in that chamber in the coming years to deal with integrity and equity toward one another.
  • For the special election that will be held in Georgia and the heavily-financed campaigns that are already in place for the candidates.
  • For members of the House of Representatives as they hold their leadership elections next week.

Sources: The Hill, NPR


Back to top