Four More States Join DOJ’s Antitrust Case Against Apple

A total of 19 states allege the company runs an illegal smartphone monopoly.

The Department of Justice (DOJ) announced this week that four more state governments have joined its antitrust lawsuit against Apple, bringing the total of additional plaintiffs in the case to 19 states and the District of Columbia. 

Indiana, Massachusetts, Nevada, and Washington also allege that Apple unlawfully creates its own monopoly on smartphones, which it maintains through exclusive contracts and hidden fees leveraged within its many business partnerships. The case states that these tight contracts and hidden fees allow the company to charge nearly $1,600 for new iPhones, which bring in higher profits for Apple than any of its technological counterparts.

Apple has said it plans to ask a federal judge in New Jersey to dismiss the case, arguing that it “faces fierce competition from well-established rivals.”

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the state attorneys general to be discerning as they support the federal case against Apple.
  • For wisdom for the federal judge who will be hearing the request for dismissal in the case.

Sources: Reuters, UPI


Back to top