President Biden Presents Presidential Medals of Freedom

Two of the nineteen were awarded posthumously.

President Joe Biden awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom to nineteen individuals on Friday. The recipients included politicians, veterans, executives, activists, athletes, an entertainment producer, a journalist, and a scientist.

The White House announcement explained, “The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the prosperity, values, or security of the United States, world peace, or other significant societal, public or private endeavors.“

Three of the medals were awarded posthumously. These recipients were veteran and activist Medgar Evers, U.S. senator and activist Frank Lautenberg, and Native American gold medalist Jim Thorpe.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the president and members of his administration to receive God’s guidance as they set their priorities.
  • For God to accomplish His purposes through the United States and those who are in positions of authority.

Sources: The White House


Back to top