White House Announces Numerous New Sanctions

The move is in response to violations of human rights.

The U.S. Department of the Treasury placed new sanctions on 15 individuals and 10 entities across China, Russia, North Korea, Bangladesh, and Myanmar last Friday. The sanctions blacklist many profitable entities within each country and specifically list how each entity has contributed to the enactment of numerous human rights violations. 

“On International Human Rights Day, Treasury is using its tools to expose and hold accountable perpetrators of serious human rights abuse,” Deputy Treasury Secretary Wally Adeyemo stated. “Our actions today, particularly those in partnership with the United Kingdom and Canada, send a message that democracies around the world will act against those who abuse the power of the state to inflict suffering and repression.”

China and Russia have said that these sanctions needlessly escalate tensions.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • That Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen to seek God’s direction as she heads her department.
  • For the United States as officials seek to protect human rights around the globe.
  • For other allies and countries that join the U.S. in standing for human rights.

Sources: The Hill, Reuters


Back to top