117th Congress Sworn In

Speaker Pelosi retains her position by a thin margin.

The newest members of Congress took their oaths of office on Sunday as the 117th Congress convened.

Overcoming opposition from some in her caucus, Representative Nancy Pelosi of California was elected as Speaker—her fourth term at the top of the House of Representatives.

Representative Kevin McCarthy of California will remain the House Minority Leader.

Afterward, the speaker said this will be the last time she will contend for the position.

As the Lord Leads, Pray with Us…

  • For the leaders of both the House and Senate as they begin the new congressional sessions.
  • For cooperation in Congress and between the parties for the benefit of the nation.
  • For the 117th Congress to be used by God to accomplish His purposes in the U.S.

Sources: The Hill, Washington Free Beacon


Back to top