Skip to the content

Missouri Receives Disaster Declaration

Following flooding and severe storms earlier in the year

On Monday, May 20th 2019, President Trump gave the official word to declare the severe storms, wind, and flooding as a disaster. These harsh weather conditions lasted from March 11th to April 16th, 2019 and the communities affected are in need of aid to recover fully. This declaration enables state, tribal, and local governments in the counties of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Holt, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Platte, Ray, and Ste. Genevieve to receive federal financial aid.

According to the White House, aid administration will come by way of “Pete Gaynor, Acting Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Seamus K. Leary as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.”

Sources: The White House
As the Lord Leads, pray with us:
  • For the local officials in these counties as they oversee this time of healing and rebuilding. 
  • For Pete Gaynor and Seamus Leary as they oversee and administer aid in this hurting state. May the Lord grant them each a spirit of empathy, understanding, and discernment.